Exhibit Studio Coordinator for the Contemporary Exhibitions Office

Deadline: Thursday, Aug 26, 2021, 11:00am

submission form

The Contemporary Exhibitions Office is looking for two student employees to coordinate the Exhibit Studio for the academic year 2021/2022 (October 2021 to mid-October 2022). The Exhibit Studio is an exhibition space of around 100 sqm in the main Academy building at Schillerplatz, which will open in the autumn of 2021. It will offer students the opportunity to organise exhibition projects autonomously.

 

Position profile

As a coordinator, you will work in the Contemporary Exhibitions Office and serve as a point of contact for the Exhibit Studio space. You will be engaged in communication with Academy students, research possible project ideas and review proposal submissions. You will be in charge of deciding which projects are selected and supporting the students to implement their exhibitions. It is planned that the annual programme of the Exhibit Studio will be summarised in a magazine at the end of each academic year.

We invite applicants from students who are in the secondary stages of their studies at the Academy. Applications may be submitted individually or as a duo, whereby in case of the latter, it is preferable if the two members are studying in different institutes or studios.

Desired qualifications:

  • interdisciplinary interest in the curriculum and artistic practices of the Academy, which should be reflected in the exhibition programme
  • enthusiasm for producing exhibitions, excellent organisational skills, and a disciplined and conscientious approach to work
  • good knowledge of both written and spoken German and English
  • independent and proactive work ethic
  • high social competence and communication skills
  • gender competence and discrimination critical competence

Experience in contemporary exhibition-making, knowledge of exhibition theory and/or art education are desirable but not a prerequisite to apply.

 

Conditions of employment

The successful candidates will begin with an introductory phase that provides insight into the institutional procedures. This introduction will include the implementation of an initial exhibition for the project series “Gender and Space” in collaboration with the Contemporary Exhibitions Office (opening end of November 2021). In January 2022, the Exhibit Studio will host the presentation of the Cathrin Pichler Prize.

As of February 2022, the Exhibit Studio will be the responsibility of the coordinators. From then until the end of September 2022, the coordinators may implement a maximum of seven student exhibition projects. A project budget of 5,000 EUR will be available for each exhibition, which the coordinators will manage with the support of the Contemporary Exhibitions Office. The project budget must cover the following costs: Fees, production, transportation, material costs for exhibition and presentation architecture, production of exhibition posters and designs, costs for supporting programme events, and photo documentation.

 

Application

Deadline: Thursday, 26th August 2021 | 11a.m.

The application documents should be uploaded as two separate PDF files (file size: 2MB each) and include the following:

  1. curriculum vitae
  2. letter of motivation (about half an A4 page), detailing what your particular interests or concerns as a coordinator of the Exhibit Studio would be, and your ideas for the programming and supervision of the space.

 

After the application deadline, the Exhibition Committee of the Academy will select candidates to be interviewed. The interviews will take place in mid-September and will be carried out by the Contemporary Exhibitions Office together with student representatives from the institutes.

 

General terms

The role is paid by the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Students will receive a contract as a student assistant with a monthly gross salary of EUR 469.80 plus bonus payments for 8.75 hours per week from October 1, 2021 to October 14, 2022. The work schedule can be arranged in consultation with the Contemporary Exhibitions Office. A student cannot be employed in more than one student assistant position at the Academy at a time. Any previous contracts as a student assistant must be completed at least 6 months prior. A student cannot graduate earlier than August 31, 2022 in order to be eligible for the position.

Unfortunately, this activity is not excepted from the Act Governing the Employment of Foreign Nationals (AuslBG) due to the specifics described. For third-country nationals, an employment permit with a labor market check (Beschäftigungsbewilligung ohne Arbeitsmarktprüfung) has to be submitted to the AMS, the Austrian unemployment office, before commencement of contract and start of employment:

https://www.ams.at/content/dam/download/formulare/001_BB_Kuenstler_u_Studenten.pdf

The Academy of Fine Arts Vienna strives to increase the proportion of women and strongly requests applications from qualified women. Furthermore, the Academy strives to create application and working conditions that are as accessible as possible. In this context, the Academy actively supports the application of people with disabilities. Applicants can contact the Human Resources Department or the Academy’s disability representatives in advance.

 

For questions regarding applications, please contact Stephanie Damianitsch (s.damianitsch@akbild.ac.at, +43 (0)664 80 887-1304).

 

To use the submission system you have to register once (if you do not yet have an account). Please use your @student.akbild.ac.at address to identify yourself as a student. Login is NOT possible with the Akademie Online password, as this is a separate system.

 

For further information please contact Daniela Jungmann-Masilko (d.masilko@akbild.ac.at, +43 1 588 16-1202)

submission form

back

This site is using cookies. As you proceed browsing this site without changing the cookie-specific settings of your browser, you agree to the use of cookies.

Exhibit Studio-Koordinator_innen im Referat für zeitgenössische Ausstellungen

Deadline: Donnerstag, 26.08.2021, 11:00 Uhr

zum Antrag

Das Referat für zeitgenössische Ausstellungen sucht für das Studienjahr 2021/2022 (Oktober 2021–Mitte Oktober 2022) zwei studentische Mitarbeiter_innen für die Koordination des Exhibit Studio. Das Exhibit Studio ist ein Ausstellungsraum von rund 100 qm im Hauptgebäude der Akademie am Schillerplatz, der im Herbst 2021 eröffnet. Er soll Studierenden die Möglichkeit bieten, Ausstellungsprojekte eigenverantwortlich umzusetzen.

 

Tätigkeitsprofil und Qualifikationen

Die Koordinator_innen arbeiten im Referat für zeitgenössische Ausstellungen und stehen dort als Ansprechpersonen für den Ausstellungsraum Exhibit Studio zur Verfügung. Sie sind in Kommunikation mit den Studierenden der Akademie, recherchieren mögliche Projektideen und sichten an Sie herangetragene Vorschläge. Sie treffen die Auswahl von Ausstellungsprojekten und unterstützen die Studierenden bei deren Umsetzung. Es ist geplant, dass am Ende eines jeden Studienjahres das Jahresprogramm des Exhibit Studio nachträglich in einem Magazin zusammengefasst wird.

Die Ausschreibung richtet sich an höhersemestrige Studierende der Akademie. Die Bewerbung ist als Einzelperson aber auch als Zweierteam möglich, wobei bei Bewerbungen als Zweierteam das Studium an unterschiedlichen Instituten oder Fachbereichen präferiert wird.

Ihre Qualifikationen:

  • Instituts- und Fachbereichsübergreifendes Interesse an den Lehrinhalten und künstlerischen Praktiken der Akademie, die in das Programm des Ausstellungsraumes einfließen sollen
  • Freude an der Produktion von Ausstellungen, sehr gute Fähigkeiten im Organisieren und eine strukturierte und gewissenhafte Arbeitsweise
  • gute Kenntnisse der deutschen und englischen Sprache in Wort und Schrift
  • Eigenverantwortung und selbständiges Handeln
  • hohe soziale Kompetenz und Kommunikationsfähigkeit
  • Genderkompetenz und diskriminierungskritische Kompetenz

Erfahrungen im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Ausstellens, Kenntnisse der Ausstellungstheorie und/oder Kunstvermittlung sind gewünscht, aber nicht zwingend für eine Bewerbung.

 

Rahmenbedingungen

Nach der Einstellung erfolgt eine Einführungsphase, die Einblick in die hausinternen Abläufe bietet. Im Rahmen der Einführung wird gemeinsam mit dem Referat für zeitgenössische Ausstellungen ein erstes Ausstellungsprojekt in der Formatreihe „Gender und Space“ umgesetzt (Eröffnung Ende November 2021). Im Januar 2022 wird das Exhibit Studio für die Präsentation des Cathrin Pichler Preises genutzt.

Ab Februar 2022 geht das Exhibit Studio in die Verantwortung der Koordinator_innen über. Bis Ende September 2022 können dort maximal sieben Ausstellungsprojekte von Studierenden umgesetzt werden. Für jede Ausstellung steht ein Projektbudget von 5.000 EUR zur Verfügung, welches die Koordinator_innen mit Unterstützung des Referats für zeitgenössische Ausstellungen verwalten. Mit dem Projektbudget müssen folgende Kosten abgegolten werden: Honorare, Produktionskosten, Transporte, Materialkosten für Ausstellungs- und Präsentationsarchitektur, Produktion von Ausstellungs- und Raumgrafik, Kosten für Rahmenprogrammpunkte sowie die Fotodokumentation.

 

Bewerbung

Deadline: Donnerstag, 26.08.2021 | 11:00 Uhr 

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen sollen als zwei separate PDF-Dateien (Dateigröße: jeweils 2MB) hochgeladen werden und folgendes umfassen:

  1. Lebenslauf
  2. Motivationsschreiben von ca. einer halben A4-Seite, das Auskunft darüber gibt, was Ihnen als Koordinator_in des Exhibit Studio ein besonderes Anliegen wäre und welche Ideen Sie für die Programmgestaltung und Betreuung des Raumes haben.

 

Nach Ablauf der Bewerbungsfrist wählt die Ausstellungskommission jene Studierenden aus, die zu einem Vorstellungsgespräch eingeladen werden. Die Gespräche finden Mitte September statt und werden vom Referat für zeitgenössische Ausstellungen gemeinsam mit Studierendenvertreter_innen der Institute geführt.

 

Allgemeine Konditionen

Die Bezahlung erfolgt über die Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Studierende bekommen einen Vertrag als studentische Mitarbeiter_in mit einem Monatsbruttogehalt von EUR 469,80 plus Sonderzahlungen für 8,75 Wochenstunden von 1. Oktober 2021 bis 14. Oktober 2022. Die Arbeitszeit ist nach Absprache mit dem Referat für zeitgenössische Ausstellungen frei gestaltbar. Es ist nicht möglich, gleichzeitig noch eine zusätzliche Stelle als studentische_r Mitarbeiter_in an der Akademie innezuhaben. Eine frühere Anstellung als studentische_r Mitarbeiter_in an der Akademie muss mindestens 6 Monate zurückliegen. Der Studienabschluss muss nach dem 31. August 2022 erfolgen.

Diese Tätigkeit ist – aufgrund ihrer Beschreibung – leider nicht vom Ausländerbeschäftigungsgesetz ausgenommen. Daher ist bei Drittstaatsangehörigen vor Vertragsbeginn und Arbeitsantritt beim AMS eine Beschäftigungsbewilligung ohne Arbeitsmarktprüfung einzuholen: https://www.ams.at/content/dam/download/formulare/001_BB_Kuenstler_u_Studenten.pdf

Die Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien strebt eine Erhöhung des Anteils von Frauen an und ersucht nachdrücklich um Bewerbungen von qualifizierten Frauen. Weiters bemüht sich die Akademie um die Herstellung von möglichst barrierefreien Bewerbungs- und Arbeitsbedingungen. In diesem Rahmen unterstützt die Akademie aktiv die Bewerbung von Menschen mit Behinderungen. Bewerber_innen können sich im Vorfeld an die Personalabteilung oder die Behindertenvertrauenspersonen der Akademie wenden.

 

Bei Fragen zur Ausschreibung kontaktieren Sie bitte Stephanie Damianitsch (s.damianitsch@akbild.ac.at, +43 (0)664 80 887-1304).

 

Für die Benutzung des Einreichsystems müssen Sie sich einmalig registrieren (falls Sie noch keinen Zugang haben). Bitte verwenden Sie dazu Ihre @student.akbild.ac.at-Adresse, um sich als Studierende_r zu identifizieren. Der Login ist NICHT mit dem Akademie Online Passwort möglich, da es sich hier um ein eigenständiges System handelt.

 

Bei Fragen zur Ausschreibung kontaktieren Sie bitte Daniela Jungmann-Masilko (d.masilko@akbild.ac.at, +43 1 588 16-1202)

zum Antrag

zurück

Diese Website verwendet Cookies. Indem Sie weiter auf dieser Website navigieren, ohne die Cookie-Einstellungen Ihres Internet Browsers zu ändern, stimmen Sie unserer Verwendung von Cookies zu.